The view takes your breath away. And that’s not an overstatement!

 

20120830-114152.jpg

Oh, that lonely bench again! I see it everywhere. With a promise of a perfect view!

 

Knysna Heads. Imagine pre-steam ships going through that gap sailing into the lagoon. I can sit here all afternoon till sundown just staring into those breakers, watching the tides flow without breaking a stride to spill out into the vast Indian Ocean. Truly, an impressive view especially when the tides lift and flow over the rocks and sandbars.

 

20120830-114655.jpg

Walking Towards the Rocks and the Lighthouse

 

The scenery before we stopped to appreciate this lagoon view somehow prepared us. My, this is really prime property with this premier view! The rocks, the tides, the lighthouse. Sitting on that bench with a cup of good brew or a flute of champagne should complete the deal. And don’t tell me it’s too early for my bubbles!

 

20120830-115301.jpg

The Lighthouse

20120830-115446.jpg

Framed by the Bus Window. So Lovely On This Wintry Day!

 

So, what did we miss? This foodie missed something big time. We passed it on our way to the lighthouse. Didn’t give it much attention as we were eager to see the views from the rocks. Read about it. But it didn’t stick. Aaahhhh….. This old hag must be losing it.

 

20120830-120152.jpg

I want to cry. Waaaaahhhhh!

20120830-120358.jpg

And we just passed it without giving a hoot! Waaaaahhhhhh.

 

And it’s just not the view. Breakfast all day in this cafe. Good coffee and wine selection. No pretensions. Just good home-cooked comfort food. EASTHEAD CAFE. Yay! Knysna truly surprises. The lagoon, the waterfront, the quays, the lighthouse, the quaint cafés and bistros. I can live here!

 

20120830-123654.jpg

The Coffee Connection in Old Knysna

20120830-123748.jpg

Lemon Meringue Pie and a Frothy Coffee @Coffee Connection

 

You lose some. You win some. In the “Old Knysna” I didn’t miss checking out Coffee Connection. This social hub has the best lemon meringue pie I ever tasted. Climbing up the stairs to go to the loo, I noticed how quaint the staircase, flooring and restrooms are. As it turned out, this 20-year old coffee hub is housed in an 18th century building which has since become a landmark in the “Old Knysna”. Nice. I got my frothy coffee, the best pie and the old charm of an 18th century landmark edifice. Swell.

 

20120831-080715.jpg

SAY THAT AGAIN!

 

 

Easthead Cafe just had to wait for my next visit! Maybe I can spend more time here in Knysna. Charming place. Good food. My neighborhood!